Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Should I even try it?

sasquatch

I moved to Kingman, Az about three months ago. I called the gym here and they said they only allow people 18 and under in their gym classes... I'm 19. and from the pictures I saw of their gym, they don't have much men's equipment and the owners and staff members are all girls. I would really to be back in a gym, do you guys think I should see if I could work there or would they just think I'm a weirdo cause it's all mostly girls?

Think about this, 1-2 guys in a gym with a dozen or so females your age. I've been in some gyms and the ratio is far higher than that.

One of the rec gyms I worked for didn't specifically allow adults but as a coach I could get away with playing to some degree, especially if it was in the guise of training to then pass on to the tikes. Sometimes I would stay late, which wasn't really allowed or get there early.

They might think it's a bit weird but who cares so long as you have gym access.

So even if all the coaches and owners are girls you think I still might be able to work there? That would be awesome! when you're wanting to work at a gym do you ask for an application or what? My only gym expirience was in Hawaii I went to open gym and had some private lessons for about a year. I read about gymnastic training all the time though.

Nick Van Bockxmeer

well I just joined a ballet class, on the first lesson the teacher says "ok girls......and boys". actually shes very kind to me but just a habit i guess.

Here's their website. allstarzacademy.com it says all their coaches are professionally trained. and if you look at their staff there isn't even one guy. My chances aren't looking good, right?

Maybe you could be a bit more creative in your search. As nickvb points out places like ballet studios, etc. might have the facilities you want.